Some things to think about

I found this while I was putting together a portfolio of work. This is the first ten, from a list of twenty-five, life lessons I had learned by the age of 25. I sent it out to friends and family as my 25th birthday gift to them. It came back around to me a year or so later from a new friend not on the original send list.

It made me smile to think that enough people had passed it on that it came back at me from a new angle.

Thought I’d share it today, since today is, as always, the first day of the rest of our lives!

10 life lessons from a 25 year old!

1.  It is just as easy to turn off the dark as it is to turn off the light.  “All the darkness in the world cannot put out the light of one small candle.”  By the same token, all the ignorance in the world cannot snuff out one grain of wisdom.  Once wisdom has been gained it is here forever regardless of other people’s ignorance or denial of it.

2.  From my mom I learned that if you smile and pretend that you are happy, at some point you will realize that you aren’t pretending any more.

3.  Life is about choices.  We are always free to walk another path.  As my mom is fond of saying, “When you come to a fork in the road, take it.”

4.  Money isn’t everything, nor is it the source of all evil in the world.  What you do with the money you have matters more than the money itself.  Most Lottery winners file for bankruptcy within five years of winning.  I have never even owned a new car, but I’ve never been bankrupt either.

5.  What matters most about your parents is how much they loved you.  When you become a parent, the only thing that matters is how much you love your child, and whether or not you take the time to show it.  The rest is just icing on the cake.  Success is not measured by money or material things.  As Nicolas Cage once said, “Success is one of those fleeting moments when everyone you love is OK at the same time.”

6.  My husband, Zach, taught me that making love isn’t just about sex.  It’s about connecting and creating new energy with a look or a touch or an amazing conversation.  Making love can involve sex, but sex doesn’t necessarily involve making love.  Consummating love is very different from making it.

7.  We all have something to learn from every person we meet.  It is just a matter of taking the time to listen.  Friends are the people that we learn best with and from, while also being their teachers.

8.  Learning what you don’t want can be as important as learning what you do want.  This is why it is good to date a couple different people before you settle down with one forever.  This applies to most aspects of life, it is always a good idea to shop around before you settle on something.

9.  My Grandma Bradner taught me that if you want to know who you are marrying before you cross the line of no return, get them good and drunk and then make them angry.  How they handle anger drunk is a good indication of how they will deal with it later in the relationship.

10.  My family has a mantra “If you don’t have dreams, you have nightmares.”  We live long enough to have three different and complete careers so don’t be afraid to change your mind or your lifestyle to follow a dream.

What life lessons get you through your days? Leave them in the comments!!

3 Comments

Filed under Rant

3 responses to “Some things to think about

  1. Great post. Your lessons are applicable to almost everyone at any age. I think that the one lesson I have learned but maybe I don’t remember it often enough is –

    Life levels the high school playing field. Good looks and rich parents can only take you so far, at some point you have to start relying on yourself and on the karma of the universe.

    • thinkbannedthoughts

      So true – I wish I could tell more kids – high school is not forever! If you can just survive that, life gets better.

  2. ledong

    thanks for your share. I will cherish it forever !

Leave a Reply

