Confessions of a Grave Robber

Today my mother-in-law and I robbed a grave together.

At least that’s what it felt like.

At eleven o’clock this morning we arrived at a massive tomb just at the south edge of town. We parked, held the door open for a rather scruffy fellow, and then followed him in.

The air-conditioner was running full blast, nondescript music played in the background, and there was an aura of sadness coated in a light slime of greed.

We were at the Border’s Going Out of Business Sale.

Now, I’ve never been a huge fan of Borders. It’s like a big box store for overrated bestsellers and deeply discounted worst-sellers. But, still, it’s a book store. Or, it was. Now it’s dead.

Today, I went to its grave and I picked over its corpse.

I brought my supply of book money (It’s like lunch money, but for my brain.) and I left with enough books to get me through the coming long winter months.

I got a couple of books that have been on my list for AGES, like A History of the World in Six Glasses by Tom Standage.

I got the second and third books in The Magic Thief series by Sarah Prineas. I read the first one nearly two years ago and loved it, then I forgot to go out and get the rest.

I replaced my long-lost copy of Jonathan Livingston Seagull by Richard Bach, and my new deluxe version even has lovely photos throughout.

Then I roamed the YA and kid’s section just looking for hidden gems. There wasn’t a whole lot left that didn’t involve sparkly vampires, fallen angels or werewolves, but I found a few titles I’m looking forward to sharing with my girls.

Heck: Where the Bad Kids Go by Dale E. Basye (I mean, seriously, right!?!)

Dragon Kiss by E.D. Baker (A dragon has to become a boy in order to woo a girl so they can become dragons together and live happily ever after…)

Peter Nimble and His Fantastic Eyes by Jonathan Auxier (This one reminds me of The Graeae in Greek mythology, the three witches who shared one eye, only now it’s one blind boy with three sets of eyes, and each set seems to have some pretty cool powers!)

I got books for my girls (Fancy Nancy, Judy Moody), books for my husband (William Gibson, James Patterson), and more books for me.

I know, I should feel terrible. I should. And part of me wants to.I should have spent my book money at the local used store, or the local indie store. I know.

But what I really feel is exhilaration. I got 17 books that I probably never would have bought otherwise. I saved them from being sent back to the publishers, or the pulpers. (Yes, it happens.) I helped a few kids keep their jobs for one more day with the hope that their paychecks will clear at the end of it all. And, did I mention… I got SEVENTEEN more books for my creaking, groaning, collapsing under the weight of my addiction, book shelves.

Come to think of it, Borders is selling those off too…

Leave a comment

Filed under Books

Leave a Reply

