Curses – A F’ed up Fairy Tale for You!

As some of you long time readers know, on my birthday I like to give everyone a gift. It’s a weird little quirk I have. I guess it’s because all of you fill me up so much that if I don’t give a little back, I might burst.

So, today – I have decided to post my March Must Have book, something I have been waiting for since September when I first heard about it.

a fucked up fairy tale

Cinderella had it coming!

Curses: A F***ed Up Fairy Tale by J.A. Kazimer Officially releasing March 1st from Kensington Press – keep reading and I’ll let you know how you can get a signed copy even earlier!

Here’s what I know about the book – Cinderella dies on page one. Run over by the cross town bus. But was it an accident, or was it murder? Complicating matters, New Never City’s top villain has been forced into taking the case.

This book has been touted as “Shrek for adults“. But I’ll just say it – Kazimer had me at “Fucked up Fairy Tale.”

So, as I do with all of my Must Have authors, I dropped Kazimer a note and invited her to answer a couple of questions for all of you -

1.) How’d you come up with that great F#@%ing title?
I have no clue. It simply popped in my head as I was writing the first scene. Cinderella gets run down and BAM the title was there. For me, when I’m writing, a title really makes the book. I love that Kensington had the guts to use the F***ed Up Fairy Tale as a brand for the series. I owe my editor a lot for fighting for the title.

2.) I love the new takes on old tales – what inspired your version?
Years of abuse at the hands of Disney I believe. But to be fair, I love fairy tales, everything from the brothers Grimm to Disney. What I set out to do with F***ed Up Fairytale was to see the fairytale world through the eyes of a villain. I wondered what it would be like for villain to be just a job, and that’s what CURSES! really explores. Are villains truly evil or are they just drawn that way?

3.) For the writers – What’s your writing space look like? Cluttered/clean, do you listen to music (what kind), are you a write on a schedule girl, or write when you can?
I’m the world’s worst writer. I write when I feel like it, sometimes once a week, sometimes not for weeks. My writing space is usually on the couch with the TV blaring, music playing (I love me some cheesy 80′s music) and my pups barking like mad. Not the best environment for productivity, but I’ve written in worse situations.

4.) Multiple projects at a time, or one track story teller?
I’ve played around with multiple projects, mostly when I’m stuck on one, but for the most part, I have to stick to one at a time now that I’m on deadline. The hardest part of my publishing journey so far is selling four books to three different publishers in five months, which means I had edits, revisions and a new manuscript all due in a very short time period, not to mention a day job. Not that I’m complaining. This is what I live for.

5.) Can you tell us what we can expect to see from you next?
Well, CURSES! A F***ed Up Fairytale releases on March 1st. I have a novel coming out on April 2 titled, Holy Socks & Dirtier Demons with Champange Books, and then I just finished the edits on the second book in the F***ed Up Fairy Tale series, tentatively titled, FROGGY STYLE: A F***ed Up Fairy Tale, which features the Frog Prince and Sleeping Beauty.

Last – can you provide a favorite/choice snippet from Curses: A Fucked Up Fairy Tale to whet my reader’s appetites?
Love to. Here goes:

I closed the door before things got ugly and dropped into my favorite, now empty chair. A cloud of dust exploded from the fabric and the sweet scent of pumpkin pie floated around me. I picked up the remnants of my dinner, surprised to see Asia had left a fortune cookie. I smiled at the plastic wrapped goodie, picturing Asia’s emerald eyes.

Peeling the cookie open, I licked my lips in anticipation of its sugary goodness and informative, if not, valuable summation of my future.

The cookie read:
The delivery kid licked your egg roll.
Have a nice day!

 Damn! Foiled again by a teen with more metal in his head than Snow White had sugar-midgets.
Hi Ho, Hi Ho…
Off to scrub delivery kid spit out of my mouth, I go.

Still not convinced?
Here’s Kazimer’s book trailer -

And finally – the news you’ve all been waiting for – How to get your greedy little hands on a SIGNED copy of this book before the official release date –

Simple – come to J.A. Kazimer’s coming out, I mean book release, party at the Mercury Cafe in Denver on February 29th at 7pm. Meet J.A. Kazimer in the flesh, pester her with questions, mingle with other readers and writers AND walk away with a signed copy of Curses: A F***ed up Fairy Tale

3 Comments

Filed under Books

3 responses to “Curses – A F’ed up Fairy Tale for You!

  1. I’ve never been someone’s present before…I kind of kind of love it. Thanks for the interview and I hope you have an amazing B Day

  2. Pingback: Curses – A F’ed Up Fairy Tale | ThinkBannedThoughts Blog

Leave a Reply

