Get your soapbox here!

I was told a while ago that I should change my business name.

Think Banned Thoughts is a bad name for a business catering to writers, after all, what writer wants to be banned?

I do! I answered, rather a little too enthusiastically. I want to be a banned writer. Doesn’t everyone? Shouldn’t everyone?

I mean, if you’re banned, that means you’re dangerous, and if you’re dangerous, that means you’re making people think and isn’t that what we writers are supposed to do?

(Can I please get a “Hell yeah!” up in here?!?)

I was cruising twitter earlier tonight having myself a little retweeting fest and I came across a post by @Brainpicker – Kurt Vonnegut himself had “8 keys to the power of the written word

This one stuck with me – “Pick a subject you care so deeply about that you’d speak on a soapbox about it.”

Soapbox Boots

Ban this person. They think, therefore they are dangerous!

See, I’m all about the soapbox. I wish more people were too. I don’t mean preachy and self-rightous, but passionate, thoughtful, and thought provoking. I love a novel that makes me see the world in a new way. I love a good news article that makes me think, or a company that shows me a better way to do things. I love being challenged.

Now, I understand, that’s not for everyone. Loads of people are more than happy to bounce along, cozy in their little bubbles, avoiding sharp things that might burst their world view and make them breathe in reality. That’s okay. There’s lots of stuff out there for those folk, and there are plenty of people willing to cater to them.

That’s not me. Not only do I like being challenged, I like returning the favor. I like making people rethink old positions, question their own resolve, stand on their heads and look at the world from a new angle. And I like working with people who do the same.

The world is filled with things that reinforce our positions, that reinforce our ideas of reality. But, as George Bernard Shaw once said, “The reasonable man adapts himself to the world; the unreasonable one persists in trying to adapt the world to himself. Therefore all progress depends on the unreasonable man.”

Thus, those who challenge the world around them, who seek a different path, they are the ones on whom progress depends.

So, to all of you out there wondering what you can do, whatever your cause, whatever your passion, the best thing you can do is get your soapbox and tell your story. Be unreasonable. Act as if you can change the world, and before you know it, you will have done so.

Soapbox

What will you stand for?

7 Comments

Filed under Of Course I'm a Feminist, Rant

7 responses to “Get your soapbox here!

  1. You provided me with an answer today. To keep up on my soapbox about the area I live in (Portland is NOT the eco-city I believed when I moved here. Quite the opposite in fact.)

    I also changed my signature quote to the G. B. Shaw one you use here.

    Thank you. And yes, we’re reading (listening).. just too busy sometimes, fighting the good fight.

  2. Samantha Torres

    It would be an honor to be banned! If you look at books that have been banned in the past they are all great works of fiction that had something real to say, so real that people couldn’t handle it. People don’t like things that shake up their world view. I will proudly stand on my soapbox through my writing and I hope to shake up the world views of my readers.

  3. “You have enemies? Good. That means you’ve stood up for something.” – Winston Churchill
    Most of our greatest literature are (or were) banned books. Good company!

  4. Pingback: Democracy in Action | ThinkBannedThoughts Blog

Leave a Reply

