The power of gratitude

A long, long time ago, in a place right around the metaphorical corner from where I am now, I had an argument (shocking, right?) with a co-worker. I was telling him that I had just quit my other job because my managers and co-workers never said “thank you.” I could come in, pull a double shift, work my arse off, bail out my co-workers when they got weeded, do it all with a smile and at the end of the shift… Nothing. No “nice work”, “good job tonight”, “Thanks for busting arse.” or pat on the back. It was always just, “Where’s my share of your tips?”

Honestly, the tipping out, I had no problem with. And I always thanked the people I was giving a cut to – they’d helped keep my shift running smoothly after all.

My co-worker told me that that was just stupid. “Your paycheck is the thank you.”

No, my paycheck was their legal obligation.

“Thank you” is what lets people know they are more than just a cog in the machine.

“Thank you” lets people know that you see them.

“Thank you” makes people feel appreciated and valued.

This year (all 19 days of it) has been filled to the brim with gratitude. I am near to bursting with it and I need to take a moment to let a little spill out.

I am so very honored to have the clients I have. Thank you all so much for your business, your referrals and your friendships.

Mad thanks to all my readers who put up with my rants, my raves and my complete inability to stick to a theme, topic or niche on this blog.

I am so very privileged to live in an area filled with great writer’s groups and to be able to be an active member of those groups.
Thank you for your support, for the many opportunities you offer me, both to learn and to teach.
Thank you for the friendships you have sparked and nurtured.
(Special extra thanks to Rocky Mountain Fiction Writers. You know why.)

I am fortunate to have a network of amazing, supportive, inspiring, fantastic friends. You all do so much every day to make me smile and make my heart sing.
I wish you all the same joy you give me.

I am deeply thankful to be back in the beautiful, inspiring, amazing state of Colorado.
It is home. It is where my heart is.

Last, thanks to all the authors and publishers who continue to send me books and honor me with the chance to be a first reader – and early advocate for your work.

I'm in Cinder!

What an awesome way to thank your supporters!

Extra special thanks to Marissa Meyer and MacMillan.
I am so flattered to be included in the new paperback release of Cinder.
Loved the book. Love this.
Can’t wait to get Scarlet!

6 Comments

Filed under Books, Rant

6 responses to “The power of gratitude

  1. Awesome blog. I love your ability to synthesize an issue and make your argument undeniable. Powerful!

  2. I’m sort of new here, and I’m not a writer…I’m a voracious reader, can’t relax without a book in my hands.

    I owe so much to so many writers who have taught me to think for myself, among other things, and I’ve only been able to thank a few in person (at cons), and by writing fan letters.

    About thanking people for helping with anything, I live with my 68-year-old sister (our mother left the house in a trust to both of us), and I think she has Asperger’s Syndrome, or some mild form of autism. I have never heard her thank anybody for anything in her entire life, not for gifts, help with a chore, not even for a ride (she never learned to drive, hasn’t ever been able to work for a living). Nor has she ever felt the impulse to give anyone a gift just for the joy of it. Ever.

    When we were kids, and still “did” Christmas and birthdays, her only reaction to gifts was complaints if they weren’t what she specifically wanted. (She became a Jehovah’s Witless when she was in her mid-20s because they were the only people who would put up with her strange ways, and I think because they don’t celebrate Christmas or birthdays.)

    I know our mother tried to teach her manners, she certainly taught me, but the suggestions and lessons didn’t “take” with my sister. She doesn’t even say “excuse me” if she needs to get somewhere and somebody is standing in her way; she just barges on by. (She also barges into conversations when one of my friends stops by, and we’re dicussing something.) She weighs about 250 lbs, so you’d better get out of her way!

    I have learned to tolerate her, and not to say anything when she does something rude because…well, I have to live with her, and from what I’ve learned about Aspies, they have to be taught in early childhood to put themselves in another’s shoes, and be considerate of other people’s feelings or they never learn. When we were that young, nobody in the US had ever heard of Asperger’s, and didn’t know Jack about autism in general.

    So…there ARE a lot of functioning Aspies out there, and you may have stumbled into a few, but I also think that in the last 50+ years too many parents have neglected to teach their children simple politeness. I see a great many incredibly rude drivers every day, talking on their hand-held cell phones, even texting, and cutting in front of other drivers, changing lanes without signalling…and on and on. Makes you wonder how they passed their driving tests. Oh, and flipping other drivers the monodigital salute if they don’t get out of these self-important drivers’ way fast enough. I quit driving and sold my car a year ago, mainly because I was too frightened to get on the road with all the rude, crazy people. If I must go somewhere, I take the Seniors Bus, or a taxi. (With the money I’m saving on insurance, taxes, gasoline, and maintenance.)

    Too many people have never been taught how to behave in public, and I don’t think the problem is curable. What scares me is that they are raising children of their own, and small children learn more from observation than they do from being told something over and over again

    I’m glad I’m old and don’t have very many years left…I HOPE!

    I love reading your comments and rants, they make me feel like I’m not the only one who feels out of place, so…

    Rock on!

    • It’s true that some people never learn this power. It’s something we actively show and teach our children. They’ve seen the results of showing gratitude with their own eyes.
      Thank you so much for your continued readership. I always love your comments and your perspective. Thank you for sharing them with me and my readers.

      • I got so carried away that I forgot to add this quote from FRIDAY by Robert A. Heinlein:
        “…a dying culture invariably exhibits personal rudeness. Bad manners. Lack of consideration for others in minor matters. A loss of politeness, of gentle manners, is more significant than a riot.”

        Some critics have complained that his later novels were too “preachy;” maybe they were/are, but I think the lectures were some of the best parts.
        (I loved R.A.H. and Ginny almost as much as I loved my own parents, and I did write him a fan letter [my first] thanking him. And he answered it himself! I still have the letter.)

  3. Pingback: Processing the disconnect | ThinkBannedThoughts Blog

Leave a Reply

