Ignite my Spark!

Hey everyone,

I’m a little uncomfortable doing this, but sometimes a gal has to reach out and ask for help.

I’ve submitted a spark to Ignite Fort Collins, on an idea I want to spread – Doing Dangerous Things (as safely as possible).

It’s sort of my family’s mantra.

For my husband’s 30th birthday, we jumped out a perfectly good airplane together.

We travel, rock climb, downhill mountain bike, try exotic, dangerous foods, talk to strangers, etc. I was the youngest certified white water raft guide in Colorado. I’ve spent my life taking risks, trying new things, exploring and adventuring and trying to live long enough to tell the tales.

We now teach our kids to do the same and while we don’t erect a safety net for them every time they set foot out the door, we have taught them both by example and by instruction how to assess risk, how to mitigate risk, and how to find ways to safely try the dangerous things that make their hearts flutter and their souls beg for more!

My talk will cover our philosophy on the importance of living on the edge, of risk taking, and of taking appropriate steps to survive your adventures, without limiting the ride!

Felix Baumgartner

Think about everything Felix Baumgartner had to do to accomplish the “impossible” and skydive from the edge of space! Insanely dangerous – as safe as possible.

In case you’re unfamiliar with how Ignite works, if my talk gets voted up, I’ll be taking the stage for exactly 5 minutes. I’ll have 20 slides that automatically progress every 15 seconds, keeping me on my toes and the audience engaged – I hope!

It’s a challenging, but exciting format. I’ve never done it before and I am terrified – but – this is the next dangerous thing I want to try, and I need your help to get there.

So, if you like my rants here, and want to see one live, or on YouTube, go to Ignite Fort Collins and vote for my spark – “Doing Dangerous Things, as Safely as Possible” along with two others that sound like your box of frogs. (If you don’t vote for 3, your vote won’t count.)

It’s okay if you don’t live in the area, or even the state, as they will post the videos to YouTube (And I’ll blog about it and post the link here, providing I don’t pass out on stage, well… maybe even then…) so your vote still counts. You’re also free to encourage your friends to vote as well!

Thanks in advance for supporting my latest crazy adventure!

1 Comment

Filed under Rant, Things that work

One response to “Ignite my Spark!

  1. Rebecca Visscher

    I voted! Love you.

Leave a Reply

